MEN DON’T CRY.

Oldie but goldie, Poetry

Thus ends the day
After kicking me in the stomach,
After tripping me
By stepping on my untied shoe laces,
& sending me sprawling
On the course gravel & dust,
& winding me
With another blow to the ribs
That pumps my lungs with dust & blood.
I clench my eyes shut in fear or
To lock my tears behind their lids.
Men don’t cry.
My lungs burn for air,
Acid burns in my veins,
Shooting pains breathe life
Back into the bogeyman within me
Waiting in the wings to go berserk,
Wrestling with my soul &
Finally, wrenching it by the throat
& throttling it until……
Men don’t cry.
They savage the foe
Even under the stars’ dim glow.

11/12/MMV.

Leave a Reply

